With apologies, there’s not much time this weekend to post much in the way of Dharma, so I’ll share a video I put together last weekend of Dharma Drum Mountain.

My Chinese school will be having what they call “Language Missions” for a week in late November, where we have some opportunities to experience some Taiwan/Chinese culture instead of attending class. The school asked for suggestions, and I mentioned Dharma Drum. Evidently, some of the teachers liked the idea, so a group of as-yet-unknown-number of students will spend the day there on the 25th of November.

To help the teacher coordinating the trip, I put together this very brief three-minute video introduction (my first real foray into iMovie, as you may notice.) It worked out Ok, partly because I really am fond of the music chosen for it. Here’s the video (it is best with headphones, I think):

The music is from the same singer I posted a video of singing about the Three Refuges back in August. Her name is 齊豫 or Qí Yù, the “Celine Dion of Taiwan,” as someone described her to me.

The words from the song I find very lovely, as they include both vows to Guan Yin Pusa (觀世音菩薩), as well as the Great Compassion Dharani (大悲咒). This combination of vows and the Dharani also form part of the Great Compassion Repentance Ceremony (大悲懺悔) that I wrote a bit about in September.

If you are interested, here is the entire song you can listen to. Also, you can follow along by looking at this  .pdf file of the repentance ceremony. The song begins on Page 9, towards the bottom, with the vows. After vows finish on page 12, then the song continues on page 14 with the Great Compassion Dharani.

Anyway, the music seems to fit the video pretty well.

For those who would like a Dharma boost this week, and rightly find this post a bit lacking, I would encourage you to see this post from another blog, as it is a very important and inspiring Chan poem from an ancient master. The entire blog, too, is filled with Dharma gems.

As always, I hope this finds you well.

And thank you for reading and watching, and, most importantly, for doing your best in living well.

