Ok.

So, I had hoped to get back into posting semi-regularly after Chinese New Year, but that hasn’t quite happened yet. I apologize, for what that is worth, and hope that there will be more opportunities to send some possibly-not-worth-while thoughts up on this blog for the unsuspecting world to see.

I have started a post regarding an interesting teaching found in the Lotus Sutra, that has been bubbling around the mind in recent months, regarding the value, roll, and vitality of relationships in practice. Not just relationships with friends, etc.; instead, all kinds of relationships, with the known and the unknown. However, it will take a little while yet to piece the thoughts together, so I’ll try and post something within the week. It may be no one else finds this particular passage from the Lotus Sutra that interesting, but that’s Ok.

In the meantime, a few people have commented that there are really not any photos with me in them on this blog. Please know that is deliberate; I’ve never been one who readily shares or seeks photos of him/herself. (This blog is almost too much as it is.) However, in recent weeks, a few photos have been snapped anyway, and it seems Ok to post them here to show a bit of “life” around Taipei and more.

Of course, almost all these photos have to do with either food or tea, two essentials in any gathering here in Taiwan. In recent months, good tea for me has nearly surpassed the importance of food —

At a lovely tea house, pouring tasty pu-er tea with a few friends.

Same tea house.

Lunch with some teachers and staff from the Chinese program at a tasty restaurant.

Same tasty restaurant, with very tasty noodles.

Visiting a lovely town famous for pottery (especially tea-related pottery) with a fellow student and his wife (taken on a iPod touch).

Same restaurant, a bit of a close-up at the lovely arrangement of simple things.

A photo taken by a friend on school outing last fall. Notice the uneven shoulders, caused by months of carrying too many Chinese books. 🙂

As always, I hope this finds you well. Thanks for reading, and let me know if there is anything you’d like to hear about, read about, or know about that I might be able to share.

Offering everyone merit for contentment and lasting fulfillment….

Who I want to be when I grow up....

